Water Use in the United States



WATER DATA FOR THE NATION

National Water Information System (NWIS)

View current and historical streamflow, groundwater level, and water-quality data

Data Discovery

For more data options, explore our data discovery tools.

Today's Water Conditions

View maps of current and historical conditions

Click map to go to current water resources conditions in the U.S.

WATER SCIENCE SPECIALTIES

WATER SCIENCE BY STATE

USGS Water Science Centers are located in each state

Contact the USGS National Water-Use Team

If you have questions about water use in the United States, please contact the Water-Use Information Team using our online form. See below for contacts for State-level information.

USGS Contacts for State Water-Use Information


State Contact E-mail address Phone
Alabama Amy Gill acgill@usgs.gov (334) 395-4128
Alaska Dan Long dlong@usgs.gov (907) 786-7133
Arizona Saeid Tadayon stadayon@usgs.gov (520) 670-6671 x254
Arkansas Aaron Pugh apugh@usgs.gov (501) 228-3653
California Michelle Sneed micsneed@usgs.gov (916) 278-3119
California Loren Metzger lmetzger@usgs.gov (916) 278-3003
Colorado Tammy Ivahnenko ivahnenk@usgs.gov (719) 544-7155 x110
Connecticut Timothy Frick twfrick@usgs.gov (860) 291-6757
Delaware Betzaida Reyes breyes@usgs.gov (302) 734-2506 x244
D.C. Wendy McPherson wsmcpher@usgs.gov (443) 498-5555
Florida Richard Marella rmarella@usgs.gov (407) 803-5573
Georgia Steve Lawrence slawrenc@usgs.gov (770) 903-9169
Hawaii Jill Nishimura jtorikai@usgs.gov (808) 587-2426
Idaho Molly Maupin mamaupin@usgs.gov (208) 387-1307
Illinois Patrick Mills pcmills@usgs.gov (217) 344-0037 x3027
Indiana Gary Martin grmartin@usgs.gov (502) 493-1914
Iowa Mike Linhart slinhart@usgs.gov (319) 358-3637
Iowa Kasey Hutchinson khutchin@usgs.gov (319) 358-3617
Kansas Joan Kenny jkenny@usgs.gov (785) 832-3529
Kansas Cristi Hansen chansen@usgs.gov (785) 832-3546
Kentucky Gary Martin grmartin@usgs.gov (502) 493-1914
Louisiana Pierre Sargent psargent@usgs.gov (225) 298-5481 x3211
Maine Pam Lombard plombard@usgs.gov (207) 622-8201 x130
Maryland Wendy McPherson wsmcpher@usgs.gov (443) 498-5555
Massachusetts Tomas Smieszek smieszek@usgs.gov (508) 490-5008
Michigan Carol Luukkonen clluukko@usgs.gov (517) 887-8920
Minnesota Chris Sanocki sanocki@usgs.gov (763) 783-3151
Mississippi David Burt deburt@usgs.gov (601) 933-2930
Missouri Rick Huizinga huizinga@usgs.gov (573) 308-3570
Missouri Doug Mugel dmugel@usgs.gov (573) 308-3680
Montana Deann Dutton
ddutton@usgs.gov
(406) 755-6686
Montana Lori Tuck ltuck@usgs.gov (406) 457-5925
Nebraska Nathan Schaepe nschaepe@usgs.gov (402) 328-4141
Nevada Molly Maupin mamaupin@usgs.gov (208) 387-1307
Nevada Peggy Elliott pelliott@usgs.gov (702) 564-4627
New Hampshire Laura Medalie lmedalie@usgs.gov (802) 828-4512
New Jersey Jennifer Shourds jshourds@usgs.gov (609) 406-3819
New Mexico Anne Marie Matherne matherne@usgs.gov (505) 830-7971
New York Krissi Linsey kslinsey@usgs.gov (518) 285-5636
North Carolina Douglas Smith dgsmith@usgs.gov (919) 571-4011
North Dakota Kathleen Rowland krowland@usgs.gov (701) 250-7418
Ohio Kimberly Shaffer kshaffer@usgs.gov (614) 430-7781
Oklahoma Bill Andrews wandrews@usgs.gov (405) 810-4416
Oregon Jon Haynes jhaynes@usgs.gov (503) 251-3468
Pennsylvania Russel Ludlow raludlow@usgs.gov (717) 730-6936
Puerto Rico Wanda Molina-Rivera wlmolina@usgs.gov (787) 749-4346 x259
Rhode Island Tomas Smieszek smieszek@usgs.gov (508) 490-5008
South Carolina Fred Falls wffalls@usgs.gov (803) 750-6130
South Dakota Kathleen Neitzert kmneitze@usgs.gov (605) 352-4241 x226
Tennessee John Robinson jarobin@usgs.gov (615) 837-4764
Texas Natalie Houston nhouston@usgs.gov (512) 927-3565
Utah Larry Spangler spangler@usgs.gov (801) 908-5056
Vermont Laura Medalie lmedalie@usgs.gov (802) 828-4512
Virginia Gary Speiran gspeiran@usgs.gov (804) 261-2642
U.S. Virgin Islands Wanda Molina-Rivera wlmolina@usgs.gov (787) 749-4346 x259
Washington Ron Lane rclane@usgs.gov (253) 428-3600 x2604
West Virginia John Atkins jtatkins@usgs.gov (307) 347-5130 x286
Wisconsin Cheryl Buchwald cabuchwa@usgs.gov (608) 821-3873
Wyoming Scott Edmiston cedmiston@usgs.gov (307) 775-9175
Wyoming Mike Sweat mjsweat@usgs.gov (307) 421-5462

 

Contact Information for Other USGS Resources

For general (non-water-use) USGS questions, contact Ask USGS online or call 1-888-ASK-USGS (1-888-275-8747).

For other national USGS water information, you can contact:

USGS Home Water Resources Biology Geography Geology Geospatial

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://water.usgs.gov/watuse/wupersonnel.html
Page Contact Information: Water-Use Web Team
Page Last Modified: Monday, 29-Sep-2014 14:23:50 EDT